Brooklyn in Love and at War

History of World War Two Told Through Letters

I Dreamt I Dwelt in Marble Halls

This short love letter revolves around a song called “I Dreamt I Dwelt in Marble Halls.”  Alex listened to it enough times to write out the lyrics for Sylvia. Here (so you can listen as you read) is the version that Alex probably heard sung by Rosina Lawrence. Her voice was used over the actress Jacqueline Wells’ in the 1936 Laurel and Hardy movie, “The Bohemian Girl.”

file-page3

July 15, 1944

Dearest,

            A few lines today again, to keep you busy reading letters. There is very little to write about. Darling I’ve listened to a record which I thought very charming, and I played it til I was able to copy the chorus. Here it is and if you have a chance buy it and think of me when you play it. The melody is also sweet, the first line is its name:

“I dreamt that I dwelt in Marble Hall

With servants and slaves at my side

And all those who assembled within the Hall

I was the hope and pride

I had ruby’s [sic] to play with and many to count

My name was renowned with fame

But I also dreamt which pleased me most

That you love me still the same

That you loved me still

That you loved me the same!”

file-page4

Which expresses quite well how I feel about you. Perhaps you won’t like it as much, but it all depends the mood you are in when you hear it.

            I’ve seen a movie ‘. Another child prodigy marvel, but quite amusing. And so the days go by and the time is getting near when I shall be with you again. So darling, I love you as ever, kiss the baby for me.

Lovingly,220px-Lostangel1943

Alex

The movie Alex refers to, Lost Angel, was released in 1943 “starring Margaret O’Brien as a little orphan girl raised to be a genius. James Craig plays a reporter who shows her the world outside the Institute of Child Psychology.” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lost_Angel_%28film%29)

I love Alex’s recognition of the “child marvel” genre, so often associated with Shirley Temple.

3 comments on “I Dreamt I Dwelt in Marble Halls

  1. Adrienne
    June 2, 2015

    What an interesting and romantic post! I am thrilled to read this history too.

  2. Dad
    June 2, 2015

    what a wonderful blog! Laurel and Hardy and operatic singing!!! What is their hairdo?

    Perfect Dad combo!! Thanks!

    love, Dad

  3. Jerry
    June 2, 2015

    A fabulous post. That such a beautiful song would be part of a Laurel and Hardy scene is really amazing. Thanks so much Molly.

    Love, Jerry

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
