Brooklyn in Love and at War

History of World War Two Told Through Letters

The Value of War Letters

Andrew Carroll understands the material and historical (in addition to the sentimental) value of war letters and has been collecting them for years.

NPR describes his efforts to preserve these documents:

http://www.npr.org/player/v2/mediaPlayer.html?action=1&t=1&islist=false&id=274075440&m=274075441

One comment on “The Value of War Letters

  1. Martha Livingston
    June 19, 2014

    Dear Molly, I’m just now getting to look at your blog, which Adrienne made me aware of when I saw her last year at the Rosenbergs’ anniversary at Town Hall. Your dad and aunt and I grew up together in Fort Greene Project, our families were close, and my parents were broken-hearted about Sylvia’s death. My family lore had it that Sylvia had a heart condition.

    Incidentally, in one of the letters above, Sylvia wrote to Alex that she hoped his baldy would grow in before he got home; I guess he’d had his head shaved in the navy!

    Best of luck with your dissertation defense, and if you’d ever like to talk about this stuff with me, feel free to be in touch.

    My best,
    Martha Livingston

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 13, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
