Brooklyn in Love and at War

History of World War Two Told Through Letters

Making Plans

This letter is a purely logistical one, written in August of 1944. As my life has been taken up by replacing my broken phone and trying to piece together my lost contact list, I figure this is an appropriate letter to post. Alex is trying to arrange for Sylvia to visit. He will rent a hotel room for the week while they wait for the Navy Yard projects to open up in New York so that Sylvia can move in. He is desperately concerned about getting her arrival information in time and takes up almost every line of this letter telling her how to let him know what train she will be on. And here I am complaining that I am not sure how to type texts on my new phone!

An illustration of Phelps' Electro-motor Print...

Image via Wikipedia

While telegrams could be messages that simply had to be sent in a timely manner, they were also means to convey news that could range from something as light as “Happy Birthday” to something as tragic as being informed that a family member was killed while fighting in the war.

I did a little reading about telegrams while writing this post. I learned that people used the word “STOP” to end sentences instead of periods because punctuation cost extra while a four letter word was free. Cool! In 2006, Western Union officially stopped delivering telegrams. So if you were planning to send one to me, sorry I hope you can find another way to reach me STOP

My darling sweetest wife,                                                Aug 6, 1944

            I received two letters from you and believe me that they made me happy. I am glad you approve of my plans.

            Here is something now I am suggesting. There is absolutely no way how to know how long I am going to stay here, perhaps a day, a month or a year.

            Therefore here is what I suggest: This coming Monday leave New York for here, you will arrive sometime around Wednesday. Perhaps the Penn. Station is best for the purpose, I mean the quickest. If you can get good accommodations leave before that. I mean any time convenient Friday, Saturday or Sunday. Whenever you decide, find out the time of the arrival of train to me stating that, so that I may apply for special liberty and so I would be waiting for you.

            What I am going to do is this. Thursday I am going to town and rent a room for us in the city for a week, it costs about $10.00 and you will stay here until the project opens up and then will move to the Navy Projects. It won’t be too expensive and somehow we did want to do so anyway.

So clearly: Leave any time from Friday on but wire as soon as possible the time, date and place of your arrival. OK?

I have to report for special duty – probably shore patrol so that is all, I might write earlier.

All my love and millions of kisses

            Alex

P.S. This will reach you wed so if you want to leave Thursday but darling wire to me! OK?

2 comments on “Making Plans

  1. Nancy
    June 25, 2011

    What a great blog. I love that you share these letters with all of us. Thank you.

  2. Welcome to the Geneabloggers family. Hope you find the association fruitful; I sure do. I have found it most stimulating, especially some of the Daily Themes.

    May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

    Dr. Bill 😉
    http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/
    Author of “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories” and family sagas
    and “Back to the Homeplace” and “The Homeplace Revisited”
    http://thehomeplaceseries.blogspot.com/
    http://www.examiner.com/x-53135-Springfield-Genealogy-Examiner
    http://www.examiner.com/x-58285-Ozarks-Cultural-Heritage-Examiner

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
