Brooklyn in Love and at War

History of World War Two Told Through Letters

Letter Full of Bawling Out

with 5 comments

Dearest,

Finally a letter reached me. Before I tell you anything else, I wish to ask your confidence and let me know what’s going on. Of all the crazy things to happen is to work at cross purposes just because you are lazy in mailing a letter. That is all I can attribute it negligence, laziness, being inconsiderate. The fact that you didn’t come down here didn’t hurt, so much. I can always see the point but the fact that you didn’t tell me of four plans and took you a week to mail a letter hurts. Did you ever think that I want to hear from you?

Besides it has its practical side too. I wrote in one of my letters that I’ll try for transfer or discharge and instructions to you what to do. The Red Cross is trying to get in touch with you several days. They were giving delayed orders, it means transfer to the nearest home N[aval] station and about 10 days leave.  I could have been on my way home if things broke the right way. If I had the R[ed] C[ross] backing and mainly if you would have written and let me know we wouldn’t be in this mess.

I want you to do the following: Get in touch by phone with the Brooklyn chapter of the Red Cross. Call them up. Perhaps it won’t be necessary for you to go down there. Tell them your doctor’s name and address and they may pick up the information on your state of health. From him they want a more recent medical report than the one of 1944. If necessary go down and see what is to be done. They will send it down here to the R.C. and I’ll use it either for discharge or transfer.

You want to know why I am anxious to do this. There it is straight from the shoulder. You better stop living in a dream world. I have only 10 months of sea duty and two years of Navy, not even that much. I will take a long time to get out of the Navy.  If it shocks you I am sorry, but that is the only language you understand.

If you have to see the Red Cross people for God’s sakes don’t use that argument of how many sailors on the beach you see. But any other that may sound intelligent.

I am sorry, I realize how bad is to write a letter full of bawling out. But I just have to. I am bursting with hurt feelings. I am so full of disappointment that I just got to bust out some where. I am not angry at you for not coming here. I am glad particularly in view the fact that I am trying to get up home and am I hope it will be soon.

But here I am waiting on the line day after day, want to know if you understand what I am saying, but usually. For the last five or six days every day time to the R.C. if anything came up. I blamed them and accused them I think in one f those letter too, that they just didn’t try to do anything. And the fact is you are Tante Dreisa. I don’t understand all this, it’s confusing I think you are home waiting an answer to your letter, the one you refuse to come, from me. But you are a Tante Dreisa. You must have had very definite plans in mind if you took for granted that I won’t make an attempt to convince you to come. You just didn’t intend to. I told you to be home and respond to my call promptly if the housing projects years’ up. But you just knew that you wanted it, that was that. Then you send a telegram oh hell it’s too aggravating…

To conclude I hope this is a lesson, if not believe me, I am going to start not to care. Call the Red Cross find out what you can and they want you to do. If possible don’t you go down but let them call your doctor. If you think you ought to call him too, do so.

— start tomorrow again to go on the mail line and wait another week before her Royal Highness will decide to write.

Well so long sweet wife. Give my love to Cookie. Don’t let this aggravating letter upset your vacation. I just got to let steam off. But if you want to avoid a divorce write steadily and often. I’ll try to talk to you on the phone today.

Love,

Alex

Give me regards to the Schneiders.

Written by Molly

September 7, 2010 at 9:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow!! Lots of mis-communication, I guess! Dad was certainly hurt…. just at the end of the war as well…..

    David

    September 7, 2010 at 9:18 am

  2. [...] Please don’t read into my prolonged absence from the blog as anything but being incredibly busy, having started a new job. I am not angry with you, I’m not being lazy either but lately it is nearly impossible to find the time and energy that I wish to put into this relationship. Writing takes time, thought, and even editing (hopefully!). I hope you don’t feel, as Alex did in his last letter, that my prolonged silence is due to  “negligence, laziness, being inconsiderate.” [...]

  3. [...] At this time Alex is waiting for his next assignment in New Orleans. He is busy making plans for Sylvia to visit. She does not visit and I’ve posted the letter he writes harshly to her about her lack of communication previously, it is here. [...]

  4. [...] yesterday, there is a previous post with a letter from Alex in which he does get angry at her here. Despite their distance and the war — or perhaps because it has so deeply impacted her life [...]

  5. […] ago I posted a “Letter Full of Bawling Out.” You may want to revisit this letter, in which Alex takes his frustrations out on Sylvia. […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

